Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Faculty Services Guide: Improving Scholarly Visibility

About this Page

This page offers faculty tips for creating, curating, and linking author profiles in a number of major academic repositories. Taking advantage of these tips will help to increase the visibilty of your scholarship and the scholarship of the law school as a whole. 

For a recent empirical study that "demonstrates that greater exposure leads to greater citations," see the following article available on SSRN:

 

Osborne, Caroline, and Miller, Stephanie, The Scholarly Impact Matrix: An Empirical Study of How Multiple Metrics Create an Informed Story of a Scholar's Work (April 22, 2020). WVU College of Law Research Paper No. 2020-006. Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=3582607 or http://dx.doi.org/10.2139/ssrn.3582607.

ORCiD iD (Open Researcher and Contributor iD)

An ORCID iD is a free, unique, persistent identifier used by scholars and researchers to distinguish themselves, get credit for their work, and use as a universal CV. You can connect your ORCID iD with your professional information, such as affiliations, grants, publications, and awards. You can also easily link your ORCID iD information with other platforms, such as SSRN, LinkedIn, and even the LUC School of Law’s eCommons. Your ORCID iD will stay unique to you despite any changes in name, institution, or research focus.

It’s easy and quick to register for a free ORCID iD at https://orcid.org/signin. By using the “trusted individual” feature, you can designate others to assist with the management of your publications list as long as they also have an ORCID iD. You can also sync your publications in HeinOnline with ORCID, which will populate your ORCID publications list with the publications associated with your Hein Author Profile (see the box below for more information). This can be accomplished by adding your ORCID iD to your Hein Author Profile. The reverse (ORCiD->Hein) is supposed to be available later this summer. 

For more information and instructions, see the following:

Hein Author Profiles

Author Profile Pages in HeinOnline showcase and promote an author’s scholarly work. These pages automatically display a list of an author’s articles and ScholarRank statistics and can be enhanced to include a photo, biographical information, and links to the author’s website, SSRN Author Profile, Google Scholar Profile, and social media accounts. LUC law faculty members should already have a Hein Author Profile. Use email alerts to be notified when your articles are added to your profile, or when they are cited by new articles added to the database. 

Hein Author Profiles are now integrated with ORCID iDs. By adding your ORCID iD to your Hein Author Profile, you can populate your ORCID publications list with the publications associated with your Hein Author Profile. The reverse (ORCiD->Hein) is supposed to be available later this summer. 

For more information, see the box above on ORCiD iDs, as well as these instructions:

SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network) Author Profile Pages

If you have created an SSRN account, you can populate your own SSRN Author Profile page. Your SSRN Author Profile page is a landing page dedicated to you and your research. This page is your unique digital business card on SSRN. Your author page highlights your research, ideas, paper statistics, and your affiliations. To access your Author Profile page, click on the "View Author Page" option from your My Account page after you have logged in to SSRN. Visitors to SSRN can access your Author Profile page via a link from your paper's public abstract page.

Loyola University Chicago School of Law eCommons (Bepress SelectedWorks Author Profiles)

The Loyola Law eCommons is a digital repository of scholarship produced by the Law School’s faculty and student journals. The eCommons includes more than 4,500 full-text articles, along with abstracts and publication information for many faculty-authored books and book chapters. In May 2020, there were more than 22,000 full-text downloads from the Law eCommons, and scholarship in the eCommons was read by individuals representing 1,159 institutions across 150 countries.

One important component of the eCommons is the SelectedWorks Author Gallery, https://lawecommons.luc.edu/sw_gallery.html. The SelectedWorks Author Gallery contains a cross section of faculty scholarship for each of the Law School’s faculty authors. The Law Library has created a basic profile for each faculty member in the SelectedWorks Gallery and uploaded full-text articles for which copyright permission was attainable.

Faculty authors are encouraged to revise or complete their faculty profiles. The more complete one’s profile, the more likely it is that one’s scholarship will be located and downloaded through the Law eCommons.

If you wish to edit your faculty profile, please contact Tom Keefe in the Law Library for further instructions.

Google Scholar Profiles

Faculty authors can also create an author profile in Google Scholar. Creating a Google Scholar profile may seem superfluous but many researchers (both experienced and inexperienced) use Google Scholar for free access to scholarship. Google Scholar tracks scholarly work using databases such as HeinOnline, Lexis, and JSTOR, as well as citations in books, theses, and other academic documents typically not housed in a database (such as white papers and some open-access journals).

If you create a Google Scholar author profile, you can ensure that your profile appears any time that someone searches for you or one of your works. Creating an author profile in Google Scholar also provides another way of measuring your scholarly impact.

Here is how you do it:

  1. Navigate to Google Scholar.
  2. Click ‘Sign In’ in the upper right-hand corner of the page and create a Google account if you don’t already have one.
  3. Once you have signed in to your account, go to the ‘My Profile’ link at the top of the page to get your account setup started.
  4. On the first screen, add your affiliation information and LUC email address, so Google Scholar can confirm your account. Add keywords that are relevant to your research interests, so others can find you when browsing a subject area. Provide a link to your LUC Law School homepage if you have one.
  5. Add publications: Google will provide a list of publications with your name. Go through the list and choose the ones that you authored. There may be several screens; you can select ‘done’ at the bottom of the last page.

How Can the Law Library Help?

ORCiD iDs: The Law Library can provide basic assistance with creating your ORCID iD, syncing your ORCID account with your Author Profile in HeinOnline, and basic instruction on how to add new publications to your ORCID profile. For this type of assistance, please contact Julienne Grant, Reference Librarian. Law Library staff cannot perform data entry and/or maintain your publications lists. Note that ORCID has an excellent Help Page, and you can submit requests online for tech assistsance. 

Hein Author Profiles: Loyloa University School of Law aculty should each have their own Hein Author Profile. Reference librarians can help sync your Author Profile with ORCID, if needed. Note that Law Library staff members cannot check, proofead, or edit Hein Author Profiles. Hein has an excellent "Live Chat" service if you need immediate assistance. If you have questions about correcting or changing the content of your Author Profile, please email Hein Tech Support at holsupport@wshein.com

SSRN: The Law Library is available to assist with posting articles to SSRN. Please contact your library liaison for assistance or more information about SSRN. For more detailed instructions for posting SSRN articles via the Law Library, please see the "SSRN Submission Form" box under "Support for Scholarship" in this guide. There is a link to SSRN's instructions for posting an article if you'd like to try it on your own.

Loyola University Chicago School of Law eCommons SelectedWorks Author Profiles: The Law Library has created a basic profile for each faculty member in the SelectedWorks Author Gallery and uploaded full-text articles for which copyright permission was attainable. Faculty authors are encouraged to revise or complete their faculty profiles. If you wish to edit your faculty profile, please contact Tom Keefe in the Law Library for further instructions.

Google Scholar Profiles Please consult this detailed list of FAQs for assistance with your Google Scholar profile. Law library staff members are not available to assist with Google Scholar profiles. 

"Increasing Your Scholarly Impact"

Sharon L. Nelson, of the David C. Shapiro Law Library at Northern Illinois University, has compiled an excellent electronic guide on "Increasing Your Scholarly Impact." Ms. Nelson is the Emerging Technologies and Systems Administrator, as well as an Associate Professor at NIU. 

Latest News on U.S. News & World Report's Scholarly Impact Rankings

​A June 8, 2020, post on WisBlawg provided an update on U.S. News & World Report's plan to compile scholarly impact rankings for U.S. law schools. According to the post, these are the most recent developments: 

  • The methodology of the scholarship rankings is still in development.
  • The rankings are expected to be released later this year (2020).
  • This year's list will only rely on "law reviews, other legal publications, and case law" available in HeinOnline.
  • U.S. News has indicated that, in the future, it may include works published by law faculty in other academic disciplines.
  • There are no plans to incorporate the scholarly impact rankings into the main law school rankings.