Access to Non-legal Resources - Statistics, News & Databases - Faculty Services Guide - LibGuides at Loyola University Chicago Law Library

Empirical and Non-Legal Resources

This page links to a number of research resources for non-legal facts needed to support scholarly writing. It includes links to scientific, business, sociological, historical, and general news resources.

Loyola University Libraries Non-Law Databases

The Loyola University Libraries maintain electronic subscriptions to a wide range of electronic resources including periodical indexes, e-book collections, electronic journals, and primary text collections. You can access them by title, such as JSTOR, Dow-Jones Factiva, Medline, at the link to the A to Z List below, or by subject, by clicking the link to the Subject Guides home page.

Statistical Information

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies.
more...less...
Accessible from any on-campus computer, or from off-campus with a valid Loyola ID and password.
United States Census Bureau
The one-stop shop for demographic, business, geographic and other government collected data.
UN Data
"The Statistics Division of the United Nations is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the UN Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system. "

Business Resources

The LUC research guide on business administration is an excellent starting point for business or market-related research. It provides links to business-related resources such as articles, company profiles and market research information. Below are links to a few of the most popular resources.

ABI/Inform
This resource contains information on more than 60,000 companies as well as executive profiles, reports on market conditions, and in-depth case studies of global business trends. It's a great place to start for regulation and trade & tariff information.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
EDGAR: The SEC document database
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Mergent
Mergent is an Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. It includes executive profiles and compensation, stockholder and investment briefs, recent news, corporate structure information, SEC filings and annual reports
ThomsonOne
Thomson ONE Banker provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis. NOTE: This resource only works in the Internet Explorer browser.

News Resources

Access World News
Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international
Factiva
Over 6,000 full-text newspapers and trade journals. Company, industry, country and market research reports. Histories on securities, dividends and exchange rates.

Medical and Scientific Resources

Drugs.com - The free, online version of the Physician's Desk Reference
Drugs.com is the most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. It provides free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent advice on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
DSM-V (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
The fifth edition of the American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-V, is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States.
more...less...
Accessible from any on-campus computer, or from off campus with a valid Loyola ID and password.

Subject Guide

Tom Keefe

Email Me

Faculty Services Guide: Access to Non-legal Resources - Statistics, News & Databases