Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to numerous commercial research databases. Most are available on campus in the LUC Libraries, and also remotely through the proxy server with an LUC login and password. When accessing LUC databases remotely, click on the database's link, then input your LUC login and password when prompted.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching U.S. legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S. newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. For a complete list of newspapers available electronically, including the Chicago Tribune and New York Times, see the list posted on the LUC Libraries website.
PowerPoint on Researching U.S. and Illinois Law (2019)
Subscription Databases (Law)
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "A-Z Databases List" link.
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals. The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline. Note that the Index generally does not cover articles on the U.S., U.K., Canada, and Australia.
IICLE Online Library
A searchable online library of publications by the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE). Downloadable handbooks, seminar course materials, and QuickGuides make up the bulk of the collection. Many of these publications also contain downloadable forms. IICLE publications are practice-oriented and focus on Illinois law, although federal coverage is included where relevant. IICLE Online Library is only available to members of the Loyola Chicago Law School community.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
Subscription Databases (Non-Law)
For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases by topic, see the LUC Libraries page.
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Business Source Complete
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
CIAO is a comprehensive database on international affairs that includes full-text access to working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs (Non-Governmental Organizations), as well as conference proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs.
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
This H.W. Wilson database indexes articles in the humanities and social sciences for 1907-1984. Coverage is international.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. Coverage is international.
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature.
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. Coverage is international.
This database with international coverage provides citations to scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines, including criminology and law.
Women's Studies International
This interdisciplinary database covers major areas within the general topic of Women's Studies, including sociology, history, political science and economics, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodicals are indexed, covering 1972 to present, although no full text is provided.
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.
Dissertations & Theses
Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.
For open-access dissertations and theses, see: