Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage related to international and foreign competion law. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.
General and financial newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching developments in the area of international and foreign antitrust. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers and trade publications. English-language newspapers published abroad can also be helpful; see e.g., Latin American Herald Tribune.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals. The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline.
Subscription Databases (Law)
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "A-Z Databases List."
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 1.8 million statutes and regulations, including over one million translated laws. The site provides links to official, full-text sources, translated into English, from over 90 jurisdictions (including the United States). The internal search engine offers advanced search and analytics capabilities.
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908 - 1981
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
In Lexis Advance, go to "Practice Area or Industry," then "Antitrust & Trade Law," then "All Antitrust & Trade Law Treatises, Practice Guides and Jurisprudence." For foreign law, go to the "International" tab.
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions, and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
For law school subscribers, from the Westlaw Directory screen, go to "International Materials," then "Global Competition & Antitrust." Content includes cases from the EU, Australia, UK, and Hong Kong, as well as legislation from several countries.
Subscription Databases (Non-Law)
Non-law databases are available through the Loyola University Libraries' website. Several databases that offer coverage of global competition law are listed below. See the LUC Libraries page for a full list of non-law databases, organized by topic.
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text
Business Periodicals Index Retrospective, 1913-1982
According to the publisher, this database provides "indexing of more than 1,000 periodicals—including scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines—with citations to more than 2,500,000 articles, including book reviews."
Business Source Complete
This database includes the full texts of over 2,150 journals that collectively cover all business disciplines, as well as economics. Detailed country and company profiles are also offered. Coverage is international.
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
Dissertations & Theses
Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.
For open-access dissertations and theses, see:
The following handout was prepared in the spring of 2014 for an LUC course on international and comparative antitrust. The course was taught by Dr. Maciej Bernatt, a visiting professor from the University of Warsaw.