Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are numerous free websites that can assist in researching the areas of international and comparative antitrust. Listed at right and below are sites with links to national competition authorities, blogs, news developments, and other materials of interest.
Competition & Consumer Protection Authorities Worldwide
The U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division offers an alphabetized list of links to antitrust authorities worldwide. The Federal Trade Commission offers a similar link.
European Union Competition Cases
Information on EU competition cases, including case databases and archives, is available through the EU Commission's website on competition. Pull-down menus for the antitrust, cartels, mergers, state aid, and liberalisation tabs, all contain separate links to cases. The European Court of Justice's CURIA database also allows for searching limited to competition cases.
Note that the Law Library has a print subscription to the Common Market Law Reports (CMLR), which provides weekly coverage of EU case law. The CMLR also includes the monthly CMLR Antitrust Reports and Index. The latter is shelved at KJE 6456 .A7 C66 on the 5th floor.
APEC Competition Policy & Law Database
This database provides access to information pertaining to the competition policies and laws of the 21 APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) member countries. Sponsored by Chinese Taipei's Fair Trade Commission.
College of Europe: Global Competition Law Centre Working Papers
The College of Europe's Global Competition Law Centre "aims at promoting cutting-edge research in competition law and economics" and posts a working paper series on its website. Papers are submitted in French or English.
Competition Law Forum of the British Institute of International and Comparative Law
The Forum is a center for European competition and antitrust law/policy at the British Institute of International and Comparative Law (London). Some of the website materials are accessible only to members, but some are open-access and include research papers.
European Commission: Competition
This is the European Commission's website dedicated to the topic of competition. The site includes links to information about antitrust, cartels, mergers, and state aid, as well as the EU's competition policies and activity at an international level. The site also provides overviews of various economic sectors, such as consumer goods, energy and environment, motor vehicles, and pharmaceuticals.
Foreign Trade Information System (SICE): Competition Policy
This page provides links to competition legislation/policy for countries belonging to the OAS (Organization of American States).
This website, hosted and published by NYU's Hauser Global Law School Program, provides articles on researching law in a multitude of jurisdictions. Some articles focus on locating English translations and/or commercial law. Always check for the most recent versions of the articles, which tend to be updated periodically.
International Competition Network
According to the Network's website, its mission "is to advocate the adoption of superior standards and procedures in competition policy around the world, formulate proposals for procedural and substantive convergence, and seek to facilitate effective international cooperation to the benefit of member agencies, consumers and economies worldwide." The website contains a full documents library.
Lex Mundi: Guides to Doing Business
This is a large collection of English-language overviews of conducting business in various foreign jurisdictions. The authors are members of Lex Mundi, a global organization of attorneys representing over 100 countries. Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, and Honduras are some of the countries featured in the collection. A number of the Guides include discussions on antitrust/competition.
The OECD's website on competition includes descriptive pages on sub-topics, including cartels and anti-competitive agreements, mergers, and competition enforcement practices. The page also includes a link to the "Competition Assessment Toolkit."
OECD: Country Reviews of Competition Policy Frameworks
This is a collection of in-depth reviews of competition policies in various countries. According to the web page, "These reviews assess how each country deals with competition and regulatory issues, from the soundness of its competition law to the structure and effectiveness of its competition institutions."
U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division: International Program
The DOJ Antitrust Division's site dedicated to its international initiatives includes links to policy speeches, press releases, various reports, and the texts of international antitrust cooperation agreements.
White & Case: News
Global law firm White & Case regularly publishes news on its website pertaining to developments in international competition law.
Part of the World Intellectual Property Organization's website, this is an international database of IP and competition laws. The database is searchable by country and subject. Some English translations are available.
The following handout was prepared in the spring of 2014 for an LUC Law course on international and comparative antitrust. The course was taught by Dr. Maciej Bernatt, a visiting professor from the University of Warsaw.