LibGuides: Practical Skills Collection: ADR

What is Alternative Dispute Resolution?

Black's Law Dictionary defines alternative dispute resolution as "any procedure for settling a dispute by means other than litigation." Some of these resolution types include, but are not limited to: arbitration, mediation, conciliation, and negotiation.

Print Collection

AAA Handbook on Arbitration Practice by American Arbitration Association
Call Number: KF 9085.H363 2016

ISBN: 9781937518806

Publication Date: 2016
Alternative Dispute Resolution by Charles Chatterjee
Call Number: K 2390.C49 2008

ISBN: 9781857433708

Publication Date: 2008-06-27
Alternative Dispute Resolution by Laurie S. Coltri
Call Number: K 2390.C655 2010

ISBN: 9780135064061

Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Alternative Dispute Resolution by Mark V. B. Partridge
Call Number: K 2390.P37 2009

ISBN: 9780195372052

Publication Date: 2009-06-12

Also available as an e-book from the catalog link above. Valid Loyola ID and password required for e-book access.
Arbitration by Thomas Schultz; Thomas D. Grant
Call Number: K 2400.S377 2011

ISBN: 9780198738749

Publication Date: 2021-07-01
The Arbitration Conversation by Amy J. Schmitz
Call Number: KF 6085.S36 2024

ISBN: 9781639054244

Publication Date: 2024-05-07
The Commercial Mediator's Handbook by Cyril Chern
Call Number: K 2390.C63 2015

ISBN: 9780415723053

Publication Date: 2014-10-08
The Comparative Law Yearbook of International Business by Christian Campbell (Editor)
Call Number: K 2400.I596 2020

ISBN: 9789403522357

Publication Date: 2020-03-23
Consumer Arbitration Agreements: Enforceability of Arbitration Agreements and Conduct of Arbitration Proceedings by Seligman, David (David H.) author.; Gilbride, Karla, author.; Bland, F. Paul, Jr. author.; Wilcox, Ronald (Lawyer) author.; Sheldon, Jonathan A., author.; National Consumer Law Center, issuing body.; Public Justice Foundation, issuing body.
Call Number: KF 9084.B53 2020

ISBN: 9781602481893

Publication Date: 2020
Digital Mediation by Stephen Walker
Call Number: K 2390.W35 2024

ISBN: 9781526525741

Publication Date: 2024-02-01
Effectively Representing Clients in Family Mediation by Forrest S. Mosten; Elizabeth Potter Scully; Lara Traum Traum
Call Number: KF 505.5 M677 2023

ISBN: 9781639052134

Publication Date: 2023-07-18

Also available as an e-book from the catalog link above. Valid Loyola ID and password required for e-book access.
Getting to Resolution: Turning Conflict into Collaboration by Stewart Levine
Call Number: KF 9084.L48 2009

ISBN: 9781282453265

Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Also available as an e-book from the catalog link above. Valid Loyola ID and password required for e-book access.
Managing Conflict Mindfully by Leonard Riskin
Call Number: HM 1126.R57 2023

ISBN: 9781636591421

Publication Date: 2023-04-10
Mastering the Art and Skill of Listening by Jeffrey Hugh Newman
Call Number: KF 9084.N49 2012

ISBN: 9781454821656

Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Mediating Interpersonal Conflicts by Mark S. Umbreit
Call Number: HM 116.U427 2006

ISBN: 9781597528375

Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Mediation Representation by Harold I. Abramson
Call Number: K 2390.A92 2010

ISBN: 9781601561084

Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Negotiation and Dispute Resolution for Lawyers by Barney Jordaan
Call Number: K 2390.J67 2022

ISBN: 9781803920740

Publication Date: 2022-06-10
Negotiation and Lawyers by Art Hinshaw; Nancy Welsh; Alyson Carrel; Leonard Riskin; Chris Guthrie; Richard Reuben; Jennifer Robbennolt
Call Number: K 2390.H56 2021

ISBN: 9781647083403

Publication Date: 2021-04-28
Stories Mediators Tell by Eric Galton; Lela P. Love
Call Number: KF 9084. G35 2012

ISBN: 9781614383567

Publication Date: 2013-02-26

Alternative Dispute Resolution

e-Books

Alternative Dispute Resolution and Domestic Violence: Women, Divorce, and Alternative Justice by Dafna Lavi
ISBN: 1351104470

Publication Date: 2018-05-11
Alternative Dispute Resolution in a Nutshell by Jacqueline Nolan-Haley
ISBN: 9781684674336

Publication Date: 2021-09-29

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.
Betting the Company: Complex Negotiation Strategies for Law and Business by Andrew Trask; Andrew DeGuire
ISBN: 0199323984

Publication Date: 2013
Legal Negotiation in a Nutshell by Larry Teply
ISBN: 9781685614560

Publication Date: 2022-10-20

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.
Mastering Alternative Dispute Resolution by Kelly Feeley; James Sheehan
ISBN: 9781611638066

Publication Date: 2015-04-01

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.
Mediation: an a-Z Guide by Stephen Walker
ISBN: 1780439989

Publication Date: 2016-10-26
Mediation: A Practice Guide for Mediators, Lawyers, and Other Professionals by Davif A. Hoffman; Israela Brill-Cass; Nicole DiPentima; Annie O'Connell; Katherine Triantafillou; Richard N. Wolman; Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education, Inc. (1982- ) Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781575898070

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Lexis ID and password required.
Mediation in a Nutshell by Kimberlee Kovach
ISBN: 9780314291523

Publication Date: 2014-09-25

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.
Principles of Alternative Dispute Resolution by Stephen Ware
ISBN: 9781684677276

Publication Date: 2023-03-29

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.
Remote Advocacy in a Nutshell by Tracy McCormack
ISBN: 9781647086435

Publication Date: 2021-01-11

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.
A Short and Happy Guide to Mediation by Will Pryor
ISBN: 9781636592657

Publication Date: 2022-06-15

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.
Skills and Values: Alternative Dispute Resolution by John Garvey; Charles Craver
ISBN: 9781531022938

Publication Date: 2021-08-01

Current Loyola Law ID and password required for access.

Websites

ABA Section on Dispute Resolution
This site serves as a clearinghouse of ADR information providing services and technical assistance to ABA members and other groups. It also provides links to various aspects of ADR and information about the section.
American Arbitration Association (AAA)
AAA, a national, public-service, nonprofit organization offers private procedures for settling commercial disputes through the use of arbitration, mediation, fact-finding, and mini-trials. It does not actually decide cases, instead it provides administrative services for arbitrating disputes, supplying lists from which the parties mutually select impartial arbitrators, and outlining rules and procedures by which the hearings are to be conducted.
American College of Civil Trial Mediators
The ACCTM is an association of active mediators and dispute resolution experts. It offers an online information resource center that lists seminars and conferences dealing with dispute resolution and provides a mediator locator, as well as links to various ADR organizations.
Department of Justice- Justice Management Division
This website provides information about how the Department of Justice uses ADR. It also provides the reader with various ADR resources to help them understand the role of ADR within the federal government.

Blogs

Indisputably Blog
A blog devoted to linking dispute resolution scholarship, education, and practice. This blog serves as a home for the numerous other resources available in dispute resolution. The links provided will highlight law school programs, conferences, research sites, and teaching resources.
ADR Times
Covers "mediation, arbitration, negotiation, diplomacy and peace. ADR Times publishes articles, news and debates, and provides an industry directory, event calendar, job board, and community space for public and professionals to connect and share insights." Most posts are excerpts of articles from the mainstream and legal news media.
ADR Toolbox
Posts consist of links to other blogs' posts and news sources relating to alternative dispute resolution.
Arbitration Nation
Posts cover federal appellate court decisions (occasionally state court decisions as well) related to arbitration agreements and the Federal Arbitration Act.