Practical Skills Collection: Wellness

Includes an LAP directory, the Commission's Statement on Racial Inequity, and a 50-State Survey of Bar Exam Character and Fitness Questions to help prepare law school graduates to complete their bar applications.

ABA mental health resources geared toward law students. This page includes a substance abuse and mental health toolkit, resources from the ABA Lawyer Assistance Program, articles, podcasts, blogs, and more.

"The Path to Law Student Well-Being" is a podcast series sponsored by the ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar and Law Student Division.

From the ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs (CoLAP), this page provides links to research and articles on mental health issues affecting lawyers and includes articles on law students' mental health.

Conducted by the ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs in collaboration with the Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation, this 2016 survey examines alcohol use, substance abuse, mental health issues and help-seeking behaviors of lawyers.

This video (accompanied by presentation slides) shows you how to mentally and physically prepare yourself to study and pass the bar exam.

In this ABA Student Lawyer podcast from 2021, guest Patrick Krill (a lawyer and expert in the field of mental health in the legal profession) discusses his extensive research and work in this area and offers invaluable perspectives on how to be in tune with your own mental health and how to seek help when you need it.

On this page, the ABA's Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs has curated articles from various bar association groups on a range of wellness topics.

A listing of podcasts from Healthline.com, selected for "accuracy of information, originality, and listenability."

A listing of wellness resources for attorneys, including lawyer assistance programs by state, anonymous self-assessments, and information and statistics on stress/anxiety, depression, substance abuse, and lawyer burnout.

The LAP provides free, confidential services, including consultations, assessments, individual and group therapy, referrals and interventions, to all Illinois law students.

From the Illinois Courts Web site.

The Institute for Well-Being in Law (IWL) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the betterment of the legal profession by focusing on a holistic approach to well-being. The IWL Web site includes relevant news, policy proposals, events, and the 2017 "Path to Lawyer Well-Being" report (below).

A Web site created by a practicing attorney to help members of the legal profession deal with stress, anxiety, and depression. Includes a podcast, blog, and other resources.

In this podcast from the Three Geeks and a Law Blog site, hosts Marlene Gebauer and Greg Lambert have an enlightening discussion with three experts on concrete ways to foster greater wellness within the legal profession.

The mission of the Mindfulness in Law Society is to help promote well-being and alleviate suffering in the legal profession, nationally and internationally, by educating it about the benefits of mindfulness, yoga, and other contemplative practices. The Mindfulness in Law Society sponsors events, offers virtual mindfulness sessions, and presents news and articles on the topic. Membership for law students is free!

NAMI Chicago refers community members to over 700 resources through their free Helpline, open seven days a week. This Web page includes a non-exhaustive listing of helpful hotlines and resources.

This toolkit provides evidence-based strategies for improving your emotional health.

A blog post with tips on maintaining your physical health, emotional and social health, spiritual health, financial health, and academic health.

In 2017, the National Task Force on Lawyer Well-Being (which, in 2020, became the Institute for Well-Being in Law) published The Path to Lawyer Well-Being: Practical Recommendations for Positive Change. The Report includes included specific actions members of the legal community (including law schools) could take to make wellness a priority.

Mental Health First Aid is a skills-based training course that teaches participants about mental health and substance-use issues.

A brief post from the Cleveland State University College of Law Library blog featuring tips to make your workspace more conducive to your mental and physical health and wellness.