Skip to main content
site header image

Faculty Services Guide: Resources for Faculty RAs

May I check books out on my professor's behalf?

Law students may check out library materials to a professor's account if the professor has completed the necessary Proxy Authorization form.

How do I request a book from another LUC Library?

To request a book from another Loyola library (an intercampus loan), locate the book using the LUC Library catalog. Then click on the "Get it' button below the record and log in with your LUC username and password.  Once logged in, choose 'Request Loyola Copy' and fill out the Details request. You'll want to choose Law Library as your pick up location. You may also want to add that you are checking the book out on behalf of a professor in the comments field. You will receive an email once your requested item has arrived.

What if Loyola doesn’t have the source? How do I go about obtaining it from another library for my professor?

If you have proxy authorization, You may borrow a book on your professor's behalf from another non-luc library (an interlibrary loan) via WorldCat, a catalog of books and materials worldwide.  WorldCat will help you in two ways: first, it will provide accurate citation information if that is an issue; second, it will identify which libraries own the book.  Once you know which libraries own a book, you may order a copy of the book via ILLiad (interlibrary loan).

To request a book via interlibrary loan from WorldCat, click on the hyperlink to the book's title.  This will bring you to the book’s item page. Once there, scroll down and  click on “Request from another library”. This link will take you to ILLiad’s login page. Login with your LUC username and password and you will find that a request form is generated for you.  Ensure that all of the information is correct before submitting your request.

You can order a book directly through ILLiad directly If you know the ISBN number for a particular book, or if you know the exact title, author and edition.  The ISBN number is a unique identifier for a book, so that is the best information to have.

As always, if you need assistance locating or requesting a book via interlibrary loan, contact your library liaison. You may also contact the reference desk at ext. 5-7205 or by e-mail loyolalawreference@luc.edu.

How do I locate non-law resources?

The main LUC Library maintains a database list and a list of full-text journals. These are great places to start non-law research. In addition the Library catalog itself is an excellent search tool as its search engine indexes nearly all the research databases that LUC students have access to. The LUC Library also maintains a list of subject-based research guides. These are very handy as they identify which databases and sources are available to (and most used by) LUC students.

Can I access LUC Library databases from off-campus?

Law students can, with limited exceptions, access both Loyola Law Library databases and databases from LUC's main library system from off-campus via LUC's proxy server. To use a law school database like HeinOnline from off-campus you must begin by accessing the database from the A-Z database list on the Law Library's homepage. To access an academic database like JSTOR, you'll need to begin at the LUC Libraries' database list

When you try to access a restricted database, you will be prompted to enter your LUC username and password. Once you enter your UVID (LUC username and password) you should be able to search any LUC database. If you have problems with off-campus access, contact the IT helpdesk

As of 1/1/18 Law Library patrons no longer have access to IICLE online from off-campus due to licensing restrictions.

My professor has asked me to check for information in a specific source or treatise. How do I know if the Library has that source?

The easiest way to check for a source is to search for it in the in the LUC Library catalog. If you have the tile of the source, or approximate title, a simple keyword search should suffice. If you receive a number of results, you can filter to the Law Library using the filters on the left-hand side of the results. Another way to restrict your search if you get lots of hits is by using the "advanced search" feature and then restricting your search to just the title field.

I have found information in treatises that were/ were not recommended by professor. How do I know that these are reliable and that there are more that I’m not missing?

One way to check on the reliability/ credibility of a resource is to consult a reference librarian. You can reach the reference desk by phone at (312) 915-7205 or by email.

I am helping a professor update a chapter of a book the professor is working on. How do I construct a search or know that I am not missing anything

One helpful technique for locating recent cases on a particular legal topic is to search for newer cases that have the same West key number(s). Cases on a particular topic will usually fall with a range of key numbers. If you can identify the pertinent key numbers, or key number range, you can search West's Key Numbers by accessing the key number outline via the Westlaw homepage, choosing the appropriate headnote(s) and then restricting by jurisdiction and date.

Another helpful technique for locating cases is to Shepardize or Keycite leading cases to see if they have been cited by more recent cases.

If the chapter (your topic) involves statutes, it is once again helpful to Shepardize or Keycite the statute itself (1) to make sure that there have been no legislative changes and (2) to locate more recent cases or articles that may interpret or explain the statute. 

For help constructing a specific search, consult with one of the law librarians. You can reach the reference desk by phone at (312) 915-7205 or by email.

Subject Guide