Skip to main content
site header image

Faculty Services Guide: Current Awareness Sources

Current Awareness Sources

There are a myriad of sources and services for keeping current on legal scholarship and changes in the law.  This page lists some of the most popular resources including:

Bloomberg BNA e-newsletters

Bloomberg BNA allows you to create custom headlines and alerts for more than 100 BNA daily newsletters and weekly reports and have them emailed directly to your inbox through BNA Email Updates.

To sign up for BNA Email Updates, click on this link.

If you have not already created an Account Profile, you will be prompted to create one. You can use either your LUC email address or your Bloomberg Law username/password to register. If you use your Bloomberg information you will have access to full-text off-campus. After signing in with your Account Profile, you can check off the box for any Bloomberg BNA publication you'd like emailed to you.

Your delivery opitions include Standard Biweekly Headlines which provides the headline and the beginning of every article in an issue and Standard Biweekly Highlights email which consists of the editors' selection of the top news. If you select the Customize option for either format, you will be given the opportunity to choose topics. Articles on your selections will be shown at the top of your email.

HeinOnline eTOC Service

You can create an electronic table of contents (eTOC) alert for one or more titles in order to receive an email each time the selected titles are updated in HeinOnline. Please be aware that many law journals have an embargo period so the content is delayed in appearing on HeinOnline.  There is no embargo period for ABA titles, however.

To access the eTOC service, you’ll need to create a MyHein account. To create a My Hein account, go to the LUC Law Library homepage and click on HeinOnline in the Popular Resources menu.  From the HeinOnline home page click on "Law Journal Library."  Then click on the MyHein tab at the top of the page. Click on the "Create an Account" in the left column.

To create an eTOC Alert, simply browse to the desired journal and select “Create a TOC Alert” from the top of the page.

Law360

Law360 is a popular legal news and current awareness resource covering more than 40 different practice areas. Faculty can sign up for daily newsletters in one or more practice areas.  Newsletters arrive via email before the start of business each day.

To sign up, access Law360 from the Law Library’s A-Z database list.  If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your LUC username and password to access content.  Click on Loyola in the upper right-hand corner, then choose ‘newsletter sign up’. Enter your LUC e-mail address and choose the newsletters you wish to receive.  Please note that because the links to Law360 articles are not run through LUC’s proxy server, you will not be able to open newsletter links off-campus.

 

Practical Law

Practical Law is a practice-focused research and current awareness service offered through Westlaw.  Practical Law covers several areas of law, including corporate, securities, IP, finance, employee benefits, labor & employment, and antitrust. Faculty can access Practical Law by signing into Westlaw. You’ll see a link to Practical Law on the right-hand side. Clicking on that will bring you to the Practical Law homepage.  From there, scroll down on the right-hand side and look for e-mail updates.

SmartCILP

SmartCILP  is the online-delivery version of the former print product called Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) published by the University of Washington Law Library. CILP indexes more than 570 legal publications and organizes them into 100 subject headings. SmartCILP provides weekly email alerts of recently published legal periodical articles.  Alerts can be limited by general topic area, specific subject heading or journal title.   SmartCILP does not provide full text of the articles it indexes, but rather a list of citations arranged by subject. It provides links to articles from HeinOnline, LexisAdvance, and Westlaw.

You can create your SmartCILP profile online and view a list of subject headings at http://depts.washington.edu/scilp/scilp3.cgi. Please note that you will need to contact your library liaison for Loyola's authorization code.

 

Legal Blogs ("Blawgs")

A blog is a log or journal of chronological entries (called “posts”) by an individual, a group or an institution, made available at a particular site on the Internet.  Legal blogs are sometimes referred to as “blawgs”.  Blogs or blawgs may include a variety of types of articles such as commentary on recent decisions, analyses of legal issues in the news or lists of the author's favorite web links. Blawgs are having a transformative impact on the world of legal scholarship due to their ability to allow for the rapid, unfiltered dissemination of legal ideas.  When a “hot topic” legal issue erupts, bloggers are the first to provide reactions, suggest lines of inquiry and provide perspective.  Because many blawgs allow comments, they also serve as a virtual “faculty lounge” or coffeeshop, where ideas can be floated, inflated, debated and punctured, sometimes in raucous, freewheeling fashion. 

Below are links to the most-frequently used legal blogs and directories. 

Subject Guide