Skip to main content
site header image

The Rule of Law: A Research Guide for Loyola's PROLAW Program: Getting Started

About

This guide is designed to provide faculty and students in the LUC Law School's PROLAW program with a roadmap for their research. It includes sources specific to the topic of the "Rule of Law," but it also includes sources and tools related to international and foreign legal research that may be useful for PROLAW program researchers.

Students and faculty in the PROLAW program may use the LUC John Felice Rome Center Library.  Information on the LUC Rome Center Library, and the services it offers, is available here.  PROLAW students and faculty may borrow materials from LUC libraries in Chicago, and they may also access LUC electronic books and subscription databases via the proxy server with their LUC logins and passwords.  Participants in the PROLAW program also receive Westlaw and LexisNexis passwords for academic use.   

This LibGuide is divided by type of resource;  Books, Legal Periodicals, Databases, and Web Resources. 

Resources Related to the Rule of Law (LUC Rome Campus)

The following is a list of selected books related to the rule of law currently available in the LUC Rome campus library, including electronic books available to LUC students via the online catalog. Websites related to the general topic of the rule of law are also listed. Other selected books at the Rome campus library associated with this topic are listed under the "Books" tab of this guide. Please see a member of the Rome library staff for additional assistance.

World Justice Project Rule of Law Index®

The World Justice Project is a non-profit organization "working to advance the rule of law for the development of communities of opportunity and equity." The Project is supported financially by a number of individuals, organizations, corporations, and law firms, including the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the National Endowment for Democracy.  The Project compiles an annual "Rule of Law Index" that offers a picture of the extent to which individual nations adhere to the rule of law. 

What is the Rule of Law?

There is a plethora of scholarship on the general topic of the "Rule of Law." Listed below are several articles/papers that serve as good introductions to the subject.

ABA Rule of Law Initiative RSS Feed

This is the RSS feed for the American Bar Association's Rule of Law Initiative. According to the organization's website, the Initiative is "dedicated to promoting rule of law around the world. The ABA Rule of Law Initiative believes that rule of law promotion is the most effective long-term antidote to the pressing problems facing the world community today, including poverty, economic stagnation, and conflict."

Loading

Map of Legal Systems


Sponsored by the University of Ottawa, JuriGlobe is a multilingual databank that provides general information on world legal systems.  Countries are categorized by type of legal system, and a color-coded map is included that displays the geographic distribution of legal systems.

Online Translators

English translations of foreign and international legal materials are often difficult to locate and can be unreliable.  Only in rare instances are authoritative English translations available.  If authoritative versions are not available, look for "official" translations that are created by, or for, a government organization.  Further, look for synoptic translations, which allow for side-by-side comparisons of the vernacular with the English translation.  Some types of legal materials are translated into English more often than others, such as those pertaining to commercial law. 

Many online translators are available on the WWW, but these should be used with caution since web translators do not generally include specialized legal or commercial vocabulary.  Online translators, however, may be of some help in getting the general sense of a document or passage.  Examples of WWW translators are:

 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

GlobaLex

Under the auspices of the Hauser Global Law School Program at New York University, this website provides links to a growing collection of articles on foreign, comparative, and international legal research. Examples of countries covered include: Cambodia, Chile, Hungary, Lesotho, Mongolia, Nicaragua, Turkey, and Zimbabwe. 

Print Research Guide

Prepared in the summer of 2009, updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library.  The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative, and international law questions.