Health Law: Journals

A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of topics related to global health law.  These titles are listed at right.  To access these publications, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access.  Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles pertaining to public health. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases. 

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals.  The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline. 

• Asian Journal of WTO and International Health Law and Policy (HeinOnline, 2006-Current) 
• BMJ Global Health (Open Access, 2016-Current) 
• Bulletin of the World Health Organization (PubMed Central, 1948-Current) 
• European Journal of Health Law (HeinOnline, 1994-2021) 

  Indexing for 2022-Current

• European Journal of Public Health (Oxford Academic, 1996-Current) 
• Global Health: Science and Practice (PubMed Central, 2013-Current) 
• Health and Human Rights Journal (Open Access,1994-Current) 
• International Journal of Health Policy and Management (Open Access, 2013-Current) 
• Journal of Health Care Law & Policy (HeinOnline, 1998-Current) 
• The Lancet Global Health (Open Access, 2013-Current) 
• Medical Law International (Sage Premier, 1993-Current) 
• Medicine and Law (HeinOnline, 1982-2022) 

  Indexing for the last three years of issues

• The Milbank Quarterly (Academic Search Complete, 1997-Current) 
• The Milbank Quarterly (JSTOR, 1986-2023) 
• Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law, and Ethics (HeinOnline, 2001-Current)

Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching international health law topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S. and foreign newspapers.  See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.  For a complete list of newspapers available electronically, including the Chicago Tribune and New York Times, see the list posted on the LUC Libraries website.