Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Westlaw, LexisNexis, and Bloomberg Law
Access to LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law subscription databases is limited to users who have an ID and password. These databases contain the primary sources of health care law: state and federal constitutions, statutes, regulations, and case law. Many secondary sources and specialized databases are found in these services, but coverage is not identical.
The first link below is the main directory for all health databases in Westlaw. Coverage includes primary law, treatises, law journals, news sources, notification services, forms, and other practice materials. From this directory listing, click on individual databases, read the information buttons describing their coverage, and conduct searches. Combined databases are also available. It is a good idea to examine the topical directory pages when using Westlaw. Browsing the directory of health-related databases can help you choose an appropriate database to search, tailored to what you need. Browsing the directory will also assist a search for secondary materials if you are learning an area of law.
If a Westlaw link brings you to a sign-in page with a Client ID window after the ID and Password, type a few letters in the Client ID window. The window requires that something be put in for a client identification.
To research by topic from the main LexisNexis research page, browse the Areas of Law category for the appropriate subject. Health Care, Medical, and Medical Malpractice are three examples of topic areas that are listed in LexisNexis. Each topic page has links to the primary law databases for federal and state case law, statutes and regulations, and secondary sources related to the topic you have chosen.
A few examples of LexisNexis databases are listed below. To find a comprehensive listing of Health Law topics in Lexis, click on the Browse menu at the top of the screen, then click on Topics, then Healthcare Law. Use the information buttons next to each database to see the coverage description.
Healthcare Law Practice Page
Lexis Practice Pages, including the Healthcare Law Practice Page, allow users to view and search all source material (primary and secondary sources) on a topic from a single interface.
Health Care Law: A Practical Guide
Health Care Law: A Practical Guide is a comprehensive analysis and practical guide for handling the many legal issues facing all health care providers in today's health care environment. Each chapter contains a concise, comprehensive discussion of the law; an analysis of problems likely to be faced by health care providers; and practical guidelines for dealing with those problems.
Health Care Reform: Law and Practice
Health Care Reform: Law and Practice is designed to assist health care and legal professionals who need to understand what the Affordable Care Act says, how it works, and what it requires.
A LexisNexis biweekly newsletter offering news and analysis of regulatory, legislative and legal developments affecting Medicare and Medicaid.
Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA)
This is a relatively new statute, related to the protection of genetic information in the workplace.
Medical Records Privacy Under HIPAA
The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) regulations affect American businesses that maintain health records. This treatise covers what the HIPAA regulations require of businesses that maintain and disclose their health care records.
Treatise on Health Care Law
The Treatise on Health Care Law is a definitive treatise that covers the entire spectrum of legal issues affecting health care law practice. This treatise provides special features designed to pinpoint the information you need quickly, including: detailed chapter synopses; extensive statutory, regulatory and case citations and excerpted materials; and state-by-state charts.