Dispute Resolution Research Guide: Arbitration

The concise guide is written for business executives involved in mediation and arbitration, and will provide them with the information they need to understand the role, if any, that mediation and arbitration will play in their company's strategy for winning business disputes.

American Arbitration covers the laws, rules, techniques, procedures, issues, and trends specific to arbitrations in such areas as securities, intellectual property, international commerce, construction, and labor and employment. Includes planning checklists and sample agreement language.

This nutshell addresses freedom of contract, federal preemption, and universal arbitrability. It outlines relevant case law and applicable rules. It describes the unique features of the various forms of arbitration and covers the current debate about arbitration. In particular, it integrates the Court’s most recent pronouncements into the assessment of the decisional law: Stolt-Nielsen, Rent-A-Center, Granite Rock Co., and AT&T Mobility v. Concepcion.

The Handbook is a succinct, comprehensive and a practical introduction to the use of arbitration. The Handbook on Arbitration Practice brings to the arbitration and dispute resolution professional the latest thinking on arbitration from world-renowned specialists in the field.

he Concise Hornbook Principles of Arbitration Law is an authoritative and extensively cited treatise on arbitration. It thoroughly discusses general arbitration law—from federal preemption of state law to the formation, performance, and enforcement of arbitration agreements—and provides in-depth coverage of specialized law governing international arbitration and labor arbitration. The last few decades have witnessed the growth of a large body of legal doctrine—from statutes, judicial decisions, and other sources—focused on arbitration.

This book underscores the significance of arbitration, especially in contexts where specialist arbitrators are needed, or business secrets must be safeguarded. It delves into the nuances of arbitration for international parties seeking neutral forums, underpinned by the New York Convention's enforceable awards. It also notes the benefits and pitfalls of arbitration in more controversial areas like business-to-consumer and employment contracts. The book also sheds light on the emergence of online arbitration (OArb), catalyzed by the COVID-19 pandemic and advancements in technology. The text explores OArb's promise and pitfalls, including discussion of AI, blockchain, and the metaverse in arbitration. The book also includes an appendix of OArb protocols that have developed in recent years, as well as providing guidance for arbitrators and arbitration counsel navigating this technological shift, addressing concerns such as cybersecurity and uneven access to technology

Commercial Arbitration, 3d is a comprehensive, plain-English guide for attorneys, arbitrators, judges or mediators involved in routine or complex high-stakes arbitration (both domestic and international) in the United States.

Covering both domestic and foreign commercial arbitration, Domke on Commercial Arbitration includes references to federal statutes and arbitration rules and caselaw. It also contains contains arbitration and litigation forms, checklists, illustrated examples and procedural outlines, American Arbitration Association rules, customs, practice tips, and procedures.

The Law and Practice of Arbitration - 5th Edition is a comprehensive treatise about the development and practice of arbitration law in the United States. It addresses in detail the recourse to arbitration in domestic matters - employment, labor, consumer transactions, and business and its use in the resolution of international commercial claims. It covers all of the major subject areas in the field and provides practical advice as well as discussion of the relevant case law.

Elkouri & Elkouri: How Arbitration Works provides a comprehensive analysis of the arbitration process, including citations to hundreds of recent arbitration awards, references to key judicial decisions, both academic and professional commentary on the issues, administrative agency regulations and opinions, and federal and state legislation.

Available online via BloombergLAW