Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Page
The following resources are listed in alphabetical order; basic descriptions and location information are provided for each resource. Resources are hyperlinked to the full library catalog record for the item unless the resource is only available online in which case the hyperlink leads to the resource online.
Texts and Treatises
Argumentation in Dispute Mediation by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2011-03-09
This E-book provides both theoretical insights and detailed empirical argumentative analysis. Its goal is twofold: to explore mediation as a real-life context of argumentation and to show how an increased argumentative awareness could improve conflict resolution.
Art of Mediation by
Call Number: KF 9084 .B46 2005 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This text is a workbook designed for basic mediation training. It sets the mediation process in context, provides basic definitions, contrasts mediation with other forms of dispute resolution, describes varieties of mediation, and lays out roles and functions of the mediators. The book contains forms that illustrate sample agreements to mediate and final mediation agreements, plus a section containing hypothetical situations for performance training.
Challenging Conflict: meditation through understanding by
Call Number: KF 9084 .H56 2008 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-09-16
This book provides an analysis of understanding conflict and offers a way to work together to make decisions that resolve disputes. The authors explain how to meet conflict itself in an effort to understand how individuals can relate to it, and use it effectively in mediation. The book is divided into four parts--choosing to mediate, deepening understanding of the process, challenges in working together, and devising a resolution.
A Client's Guide to Mediation and Arbitration: the strategy for winning by
Call Number: KF 9084 .S55 2008 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
The concise guide is written for business executives involved in mediation and arbitration, and will provide them with the information they need to understand the role, if any, that mediation and arbitration will play in their company's strategy for winning business disputes.
Expert Mediators: overcoming mediation challenges in workplace, family, and community conflicts by
Call Number: K 2390 .P65 2013 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2012-11-21
Tapping the experience and wisdom of over 175 highly qualified mediators from across different realms of the mediation practice and across geographic regions, this book integrates best practices in order to improve the performance of mediators. For each proposed strategy, this book discusses conditions under which each practice should be used as well as approaches to mitigate risks associated with using each strategy and technique.
Also available via Ebook
Getting to Resolution by
Call Number: KF 9084 .L48 2009 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
This book offers principles and tools to show how to get to real, lasting resolution of any kind of personal, business, organizational, or community conflict. It focuses on how to resolve conflict in a holistic, win-win manner.
Also available via Ebook
Making Money Talk by
Call Number: K 2390 .L58 2007 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2007-06-19
This book describes models and techniques to help mediators deal with the peculiar problems that arise in traditional bargaining.
Mediation: a path back for the lost lawyer by
Call Number: KF 9084 .V36 2005 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2004-03-09
This book provides a discussion of values and principles with practical help for mediators.
Mediating Legal Disputes by
Call Number: KF 9085 .G63 2009 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-06-16
This book explains how to apply both traditional mediation techniques and other methods to overcome the special barriers that make settlements of legal disputes so difficult. It combines theory with practical techniques that the reader can use to resolve difficult legal disputes, and provides dozens of examples, drawn from the author's extensive experience, that bring tactical suggestions to life.
Mediation in a Nutshell,3d by
Call Number: Available online via West Study Aids subscription
Publication Date: 2014-09-25
This title provides a comprehensive, yet concise examination of the primary aspects of mediation practice. The book considers the legal, philosophical, policy and practical issues surrounding mediation use. Matters include issues such as levels of participation in mediation, enforceability of mediated agreements, regulation of practice including ethical concerns, and a survey of the specialized applications of mediation.
Mediation Law, Policy, Practice by
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
Publication Date: 2011-
Designed for use by judges, legislators, and practicing attorneys, this book provides analysis of mediation law developments, cases, statutes, and the mediation process itself.
The Mediation Process by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
This comprehensive text is perfect for new and experienced conflict managers working in any area of dispute resolution—family, community, employment, business, environmental, public policy multicultural, or international.
Mediation Representation: Advocating as a Problem-solver in any Country or Culture by
Call Number: K 2390 .A92 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
The author provides a framework for effective problem-solving advocacy in mediation to answer questions like: How do I select the right mediator? How do I prepare a client and case for mediation? And, what do I do as a mediation unfolds. More than 20 appendices cover decision-trees, sample agreements, sample opening statements, selective mediation rules, and more. Includes CD-ROM.
The Mediator's Handbook by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
The Mediator's Handbook presents a time-tested, adaptable model for helping people work through conflict. Extensively revised to incorporate recent practice and thinking, the accessible manual format lays out a clear structure for new and occasional mediators while offering a detailed, nuanced resource for professionals.
The Middle Voice: Mediating Conflict Successfully by
Call Number: KF 9084 .S773 2009
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
The Middle Voice describes the role of a mediator and the skills and knowledge necessary to conduct a successful process. Through its diverse examples and focus on concrete problem-solving strategies and tactics, this book provides a relevant, effective guide for anyone involved in mediation.
Perceptions in Litigation and Mediation by
Call Number: K 2390 .R45 2009 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2009-01-12
This book is unique in examining and understanding the workings of the legal system through juxtaposing lawyers', plaintiffs', defendants' and mediators' perceptions of litigation and mediation in ongoing litigated cases.
Also available via Ebook
The Practice of Mediation: a video-integrated text by
Call Number: KF 9084 .F746 2008 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
This book combines in-depth textual analysis of the mediation process with videos illustrating the stages of the mediation process and the many constituent skills of effective mediators. the text provides students a sophisticated understanding of the negotiation process and the barriers to conflict resolution. Accompanied by video of three unscripted mediated disputes, based on actual cases, the presentation allows students to see what they are reading about, preparing them for all major approaches to mediation.
Second copy available on permanent reserve.
Stories Mediators Tell by
Call Number: KF 9084 .G35 2012 Law Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
This book is a collection of inspirational stories shared by experts in the field who want others to experience the art of mediation. Their stories share advice on how to handle certain situations. The stories were not collected to glorify or to vilify mediation, but to make it accessible to readers generally to share what mediation is about and how certain situations were handled. The authors are motivated by the belief that mediation is not well understood--even its practitioners are often limited to their own experience, particularly given confidentiality strictures.