Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health Databases at Loyola
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to commercial databases with coverage of health law and medical issues. Loyola user IDs and passwords are required for access to these databases from off-campus.
Specific, health-related BNA, Westlaw, and LexisNexis databases are listed on separate tabs below the main Databases tab. Individual login and password information is required for access to Westlaw and LexisNexis.
These legal databases are available to Loyola University Chicago law students and faculty. They are linked here, and also are available from the Law Library's Web site via the A-Z Databases Page.
American Health Lawyers Association - Health Law Archive
The Health Law Archive contains over 20,000 documents from the American Health Lawyers Association, including program papers, Journal of Health Law issues (1984-), Practice Group Newsletters, member briefings, teleconference recordings, and Health Lawyers News, (1997-present), searchable with an internal Google search engine.
Bloomberg BNA - Health Law Reporters
Click on the link see a complete list of Bloomberg BNA online health law titles to which current Loyola University Chicago students, faculty, and staff have access.
HeinOnline contains full text, scanned federal and state laws, law journals, legislative history and other materials that include health law. HeinOnline databases are searchable by keyword and date range, and browsable by title.
LegalTrac indexes U.S. legal journals and some foreign legal periodicals. The database has many American and Canadian legal journals related to health, medicine, and health policy. The search engine is straightforward and flexible. Some articles are available in full text. Citations located in Legal Trac can be sought in full text in HeinOnline.
For law school subscribers only, this is the link to the main LexisNexis page. Lexis databases specifically related to health law are available from the Databases drop-down menu, at the top of this page.
This is the main link to Westlaw, for law school subscribers only. Individual Westlaw databases related to health law are available from the Databases drop-down menu, at the top of this page.
Cheetah - Healthcare Page
Cheetah is the new Wolters Kluwer legal research platform, which has fully replaced the IntelliConnect platform as of January 1, 2019. Cheetah's HealthCare page provides access to CCH treatises and secondary sources, federal and state antitrust statutes, federal administrative law materials, cases, news, blogs, and more. Specific CCH treatises on health care are available from the Databases drop-down menu, at the top of this page.
For more information on using Cheetah, you can refer to the Cheetah Quick Start Card, available at https://lrus.wolterskluwer.com/media/wk/lnb/pdf/training/cheetah/cheetah-quick-start-card.pdf.
Cheetah usage is limited to current Loyola Law faculty, students, and staff for academic (i.e. non-commercial) purposes only.
CCH Health Reform KnowlEDGE Center
CCH's Health Reform KnowlEDGE Center provides access to a wide variety of material related to the implementation of the Affordable Care Act, including news, expert analysis, primary source materials, and state-by-state comparison charts.
Health Care Mergers and Acquisitions Answer Book (2021 Edition)
This Practising Law Institute treatise is designed to offer easy access to reliable guidance on an array of legal and practical issues arising in health care merger and acquisition transactions.
Healthcare Employment Practice: Policy, Law and Procedure
This Practising Law Institute treatise explores how the health care system actually operates, and suggests how lawyers, human resource professionals, and hospital management teams can improve their outcomes through astute planning and careful drafting of employment agreements. This treatise includes sample documents and provides step-by-step, term-by-term guidance on physician employment contracts.
Hot Topics in Health Care Law 2020
A Practising Law Institute course handbook corresponding to a course covering the broad range of issues that confronted the health care industry in 2020. Includes a detailed look at recent and pending legislation.
Medical Devices Law and Regulation Answer Book (2021 Edition)
This Practising Law Institute treatise is designed to provide a practical guide to the complexities of FDA regulation of medical devices.
Pharmaceutical Compliance and Enforcement Answer Book (2021 Edition)
This Practising Law Institute treatise provides a comprehensive overview of the complex regulatory issues faced by the different participants in the pharmaceutical industry.
IICLE Online Databases
IICLE Online is a subscription database that contains publications of the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE). It is available only to current Loyola Law students and faculty from the link above, and only from on-campus computers. Some titles are devoted to health-related issues, including: long-term care litigation, medical malpractice, disability law, and advising elderly clients and their families.
Many titles are general practice litigation materials. All the titles are aimed at legal professionals who require practice and procedure information, as well as the primary law in the covered subject areas.
Newspapers can be very useful when researching health law topics. Two significant periodical databases are linked here. Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg also have good coverage of domestic and international newspapers.
Access World News
Access World News is a database that provides full-text articles from hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers. It is accessible from this link, and also is found on the Loyola Libraries Full-Text Databases link.
Factiva has national and international content, including the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, as well as The Wall Street Journal and other newspapers. Factiva provides market data, company and industry news. There are 22 language interfaces and multilingual content from more than 8,000 sources. Factiva is accessible from the main Loyola University Libraries database list, updated daily, with coverage from 1989.
Hundreds of journals related to health and the biological sciences are accessible from the Loyola Libraries electronic databases. Subject, keyword, author and title searches are possible within each database. News articles are also available in many of these databases.
The first link below is to the entire list of Loyola non-law databases. It is possible to browse or search by journal title from the Loyola database page. Selected databases with the most coverage of health, medicine, and the biological sciences are listed individually, below the main link.
Loyola Libraries Full-Text Databases
Click here to reach the full list of non-law, full-text databases at Loyola Libraries. Several of the databases with the most coverage of health issues are listed below:
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database includes over 3.000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. Health topics are well-covered and search terms are suggested once a subject search is made.
Academic Search Premier
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
To locate Academic Search Premier, scroll down the alphabetical database list when the link opens to the Loyola Libraries databases page.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL.
To locate CINAHL, scroll down the alphabetical database list when the link opens to the Loyola Libraries databases page.
International in scope, focuses on economics, and includes health materials. The database contains citations and abstracts to books, journals, dissertations and papers.
To locate Econlit, scroll down the alphabetical database list when the link opens to the Loyola Libraries databases page.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Has more than 400 scholarly full text journals about many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
To locate Health Source, scroll down the alphabetical database list when the link opens to the Loyola Libraries databases page.
Health Star is an index to published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research.
To locate Health Star, scroll down the alphabetical database list when the link opens to the Loyola Libraries databases page.
Journals at Ovid
The database is a full text aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.
To locate Journals at Ovid, scroll down the alphabetical database list when the link opens to the Loyola Libraries databases page.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes a number of publications focused on health care policy; some coverage is current, some journals cover older material.
Medline is a comprehensive source for abstracts and citations to articles in the life sciences and biomedical disciplines.
To locate Medline, scroll down the alphabetical database list when the link opens to the Loyola Libraries databases page.
A division of Oxford University Press, the online version has more than 230 academic and research journals and includes coverage of law, life sciences, and medicine.
Project Muse is an interdiscliniplary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. It is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, which, by long tradition has published with distinction in several disciplines, including the history of science and medicine.
PubMed has more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
Sage Journals Online
SAGE publishes more than 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals, including these titles: Health Education Journal; Medical Decision Making; Health; and Health Education and Behavior.
ScienceDirect offers more than ten million articles in science, including coverage of the health sciences. The database contains 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
Full text articles from hundreds of journals devoted to medicine, public health, biomedical and life sciences, among other disciplines, are featured in this database.
Wiley InterScience Journals
Full text articles from sciences journals, many on health and medical topics, including health care policy.