These tabs are checked to ensure that URLs are not broken, however, these tabs are not updated with new sources. Thus, research outside of these sources to ensure best quality and source origin.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Asian countries. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Vietnamese law topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. Note that there is an Asian edition of the Wall Street Journal, which is published in Hong Kong Monday through Friday. The text of the aforementioned is available in LexisNexis.
English-language newspapers in Vietnam are:
Nhan Dan (the Central Organ of the Communist Party of Vietnam)
Viet Nam News (Vietnam News Agency)
Saigon Times (text in Access World News, Westlaw)
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "A-Z Databases" link.
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database also includes a small collection of documents, historical texts, and commentary related to Vietnam.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.
For law school subscribers, under the News & Business tab in Lexis.com, choose "Country & Region (excluding U.S)," then "Asia Pacific." Access to the "Wall Street Journal Asia" database is available within the "News" link, then "Individual Publications."
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions, and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
In Westlaw, click on "International Materials" then "All Other International Materials" then Vietnam.
For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases with coverage of Asia, see the Loyola Libraries research page for "Asian Studies."
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
According to the database description, the Bibliography of Asian Studies,contains over 700,000 records "on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present." Materials referenced in the database are primarily in Western languages.
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of more than 2,300 journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes over 30 publications that specifically focus on topics related to Asian Studies.
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature, including Asian publications.
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides comprehensive global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. For specific country information on Vietnam, choose one of the categories under "Countries and Consumers," and then a specific area of interest. Then choose "Vietnam" under one of the pull down menus for specific countries.
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. The database includes publications that focus on topics related to Asian Studies.
Formerly ABI Inform. This database has articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
This database with international coverage provides citations to scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines, including criminology and law.
This interdisciplinary database covers major areas within the general topic of Women's Studies, including sociology, history, political science and economics, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodicals are indexed, covering 1972 to present, although no full text is provided.
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.
