A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of Latin American legal topics. These titles are listed at right. To access these publications, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access. Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on Latin American topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.
The following academic journals cover topics related to Latin American law. The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the journal title, along with the years covered.
Known as NAFTA: Law and Business Review of the Americas from 1995-2016
Known as Lawyer of the Americas from 1969-1984
Latin American Law Journals and Serials in U.S. Law Libraries
The Foreign, Comparative, and International Law Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries maintains a list of Latin American law journals and other serials held at selected U.S. libraries. Titles are organized by country, and there is also a general category for Latin America. The majority of items on the list are in Spanish.
PAC-Rim Legal Values: Chile (July 16, 2013)
This PowerPoint accompanied a talk on Chilean legal research given at the American Association of Law Libraries Annual Meeting in Seattle on July 16, 2013. The speaker was Sergio Stone, Robert Crown Law Library, Stanford University. (Posted with permission.)
Researching Chilean Legal Topics (January 2017)
This PowerPoint presentation was prepared for the LUC Law School course, "Comparative Law Seminar: Legal Systems in the Americas."
SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest. Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals. Some subject headings related to Chilean law include "Comparative and Foreign Law," "Civil Law," and "Human Rights Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up.
