These tabs are checked to ensure that URLs are not broken, however, these tabs are not updated with new sources. Thus, research outside of these sources to ensure best quality and source origin.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of African countries. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.
Newspapers and news services may be extremely helpful when researching Tanzanian legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. Major English language newspapers and news sources in Tanzania are:
The Citizen (also in LexisNexis, 2013-Current)
Daily News (also limited coverage in Access World News)
Stanford Research Guide: Tanzania News and Newspapers Online
The regional Kenya-based weekly publication, The East African, also contains news about Tanzania.
Additional websites that contain news about Tanzania are listed under the "Web Resources" tab.
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "A-Z Databases" link.
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database also contains a small collection of documents, historical texts, and commentary related to Tanzania, as well as a bibliography.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.
For law school subscribers, under the "International" tab, choose "View all Countries" then Tanzania. The "Arusha Times" database is available (2010-2016) under an alphabetical list of publications.
For law school subscribers, in WestlawNext, go to "International Materials," then "International News," then "Africa" for a variety of African and Tanzanian related news.
For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases with coverage of Africa, see the Loyola Libraries research page for "African Studies."
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Part of the Proquest Black Studies Center database, the International Index to Black Periodicals includes "current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals."
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of more than 2,300 journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes over 40 publications that specifically focus on topics related to African Studies.
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature, including African publications.
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. The database includes publications that focus on topics related to African Studies.
Formerly ABI Inform. This database has articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
This database with international coverage provides citations to scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines, including criminology and law.
Index, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.
