These tabs are checked to ensure that URLs are not broken, however, these tabs are not updated with new sources. Thus, research outside of these sources to ensure best quality and source origin.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Latin America. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Latin American legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. A historical archive of English and Spanish-language newspapers published in Latin America is available through the World Newspaper Archive.
See also under "Blogs & Current Awareness" within the "Web Resources" tab for additional ideas on current awareness sources.
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "A-Z Databases" link.
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database contains English translations of constitutions, as well as historical documents and texts, for many individual Latin American countries.
This H.W. Wilson database provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but the complete articles may be available via another Loyola database, such as HeinOnline.
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.
In LexisAdvance, go to the "International" tab, and then select individual countries. Various Mexican federal and state laws are included, for example.
LLMC-Digital is an electronic product of the Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC). The LLMC backfile contains the world's largest collection of government documents and legal literature in microform; LLMC-Digital is an ongoing attempt to convert those documents to an electronic form. Specialty sources within the collection include old federal administrative decisions, federal case law, some presidential papers, state publications, and foreign and international materials. LLMC-Digital is searchable by title, author, keyword, or citation
Available through HeinOnline, the Index will point researchers to materials that are international in scope, but treat individual countries or jurisdictions within.
This database allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
For law school subscribers, in WestlawNext, go to "News" then "International" then "Latin America." There are also materials under "International Materials" then "All Other International Materials."
Although this database focuses on links to the texts of foreign constitutions (many in English translation), the texts of monographs, relevant law review articles, and historical documents are also included.
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
According to the database description, HAPI Online contains "authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States." The database is primarily an index (over 500 publications are included), but links to full text are provided when available.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes a number of publications that specifically focus on topics related to Latin American Studies.
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers.
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. The database includes publications that focus on topics related to Iberian Studies.
Formerly ABI Inform. This database has articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
Index, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.
