These tabs are checked to ensure that URLs are not broken, however, these tabs are not updated with new sources. Thus, research outside of these sources to ensure best quality and source origin.
There are numerous free websites that can assist in locating Latin American primary law as well as secondary information on Latin American legal topics.
Since March 2020, a global team of law librarians and experts has been closely monitoring the rapidly developing legal and governmental responses to the COVID-19 crisis in Latin America and the Caribbean. Biweekly reports are being published on the group's website, Monitoring COVID-19 in Latin America and the Caribbean.
The Due Process of Law Foundation has published several digests on Latin American national case jurisprudence:
This site, hosted on the Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes platform, provides access to current and historical constitutions in the Spanish-speaking world.
This is an online repository of constitutions. Developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project, the site allows for comparison of passages from selected documents. The site is also available in Spanish through a menu in the upper right-hand corner of the opening screen. Note that HeinOnline's "World Constitutions Illustrated" subscription database also contains the full texts of the constitutions of Latin American countries.
Spanish language portal, hosted by the University of Fribourg (Switzerland), provides access to crminal law resources from numerous countries.
The purpose of this website, jointly administered by several international organizations (FAO, IUCN, and UNEP) is to provide the "most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law." The site includes a database of national environmental legislation, which includes Latin American nations.
This is a set of annotated web guides to locating and researching national law, organized alphabetically by country. The Law Library of Congress maintains the site.
According to the site,"IberRed brings together the Ministries of Justice, the Public Ministries and General Prosecutors, and the Judicial Branches, through their contact points, as well as the central authorities, through their liaisons, in order to facilitate international legal cooperation." Mostly in Spanish with some English-language content available.
Hosted on the website of SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials), this is an open-access database that provides links to free digitized collections of primary sources related to Latin America and the Caribbean. The database provides access by country, format/genre, hosting institution, and collection title.
The International Labor Organization (ILO) maintains NATLEX--a database of national labor, social security, and human rights legislation. The database currently contains over 65,000 records, covering more than 190 countries. Records are provided in only one of the ILO's official languages, which are English, Spanish, and French. NATLEX is browsable by country and subject, and there is also an "Advanced Search" function available.
This is a database of national cultural heritage laws in the vernacular, as well as any available official or unofficial English translations. The database may be searched by country, heritage category, theme, type of instrument, and also by language.
WIPO Lex is an international database of Intellectual Property laws and treaties, maintained by the World Intellectual Property Organization. The database is searchable by country and subject, and there is also keyword search capability.
Several non-profit regional legal information initiatives created and now maintain World LII. The site offers legal subject-based links for individual countries. Click on "All Countries" for an alphabetical list.
In partnership with the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS), the Benson is a global destination for research and study, with over a million volumes as well as a wealth of original manuscripts, photographs and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States.
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the Handbook is an interdisciplinary bibliography of published works pertaining to the general topic of Latin American Studies. The Handbook is updated annually.
LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. The Latin America North East Libraries Consortium (LANE) established and administers the project.
This is the website of the print publication, Latin Lawyer, which focuses on business law developments in Latin America. Some content is available on the website without a subscription.
These guides provide general information about legal and business infrastructures in jurisdictions around the world.
Located in The Hague, the Peace Palace Library serves the International Court of Justice and has been collecting international legal materials since 1913. The Library's website provides access to its online catalogue as well as various research guides.
Refword is an international database, organized by country and maintained by the United Nations High Commission on Human Rights (UNHCR). The database contains a collection of reports and policy documents relating to refugee status and human rights issues.
SICE is the OAS' (Organization of American States) centralized databank of trade information. Included on the website are full texts of trade agreements and current information on trade policy.
This is an extensive online collection of 60,000+ human rights treaties and other human rights documents. Numerous links are also provided to human rights websites. Additionally, there is a site-specific search engine available, and a section on "Resources for Researching Country Conditions."
Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Managua, Nicaragua.
Quito, Ecuador.
San José, Costa Rica.
There are numerous blogs that focus on international law, and several that focus on Latin American law generally, and others on the law of specific Latin American countries. Many of these are in Spanish. There are also sites that focus on Latin American current events and politics and regularly update their content.
Scroll down to "Countries" list.
Described as "Smart News & Research for Latin America's Changemakers."
Compiled by Law Library of Congress personnel, although not specifically focusing on Latin America.
Website posts current news and research, reports, and also hosts a blog.
Blog hosted by the London School of Economics (LSE) Latin America and Caribbean Centre.
Pan-Latin American news service, sponsored by the Bolivian, Cuban, Ecuadorian, Nicaraguan, and Uruguayan governments. Bilingual.
