These tabs are checked to ensure that URLs are not broken, however, these tabs are not updated with new sources. Thus, research outside of these sources to ensure best quality and source origin.
A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of Latin American legal topics. These titles are listed at right. To access these publications, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access. Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on Latin American topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals. The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline.
CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales) - Based in Buenos Aires, CLACSO sponsors a network of open-access libraries that post Latin American scholarship.
Latindex - Latindex compiles bibliographic information for Ibero-American serials.
RedALyC - This is an academic open-access project focusing primarily on the sciences.
SciELO - This is a publishing portal for scholarship primarily in the sciences, with some legal content.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full text databases.
The following academic journals cover topics related to Latin American law. The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the journal title, along with the years covered.
Bogota, Colombia
Latin American Law Journals & Serials in U.S. Law Libraries
The Foreign, Comparative, and International Law Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries mantains a list of Latin American law journals and other serials held at selected U.S. libraries. Titles are organized by country, and there is also a general category for Latin America. The majority of items on the list are in Spanish.
Havana, Cuba
SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge.
Part of the National Autonomous University of Mexico's (UNAM) Instituto de Investigaciones Jurídicas, the virtual Biblioteca contains the full texts of monographs, journals, and other materials. The content emphasis is Mexico, but other Latin American countries are also covered.
SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest. Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals. Some subject headings related to Latin American law include "Comparative and Foreign Law," "Civil Law," and "Human Rights Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up.
La Boca, Buenos Aires, Argentina
