These tabs are checked to ensure that URLs are not broken, however, these tabs are not updated with new sources. Thus, research outside of these sources to ensure best quality and source origin.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Latin American and Caribbean countries. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.
Santa Clara, Cuba
For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases with coverage of Latin America and the Caribbean, see the Loyola Libraries research page for "Latin American Studies."
Havana, Cuba
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
This database includes the full texts of over 2,150 journals that collectively cover all business disciplines, as well as economics. Detailed country and company profiles are also offered. Coverage is international.
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, & Hispanics in the United States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes a number of publications that specifically focus on topics related to Latin American Studies.
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature,
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals.
Formerly ABI Inform. Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
Index, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Databases A-Z" link.
Trinidad, Cuba
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database also includes a collection of historical documents and texts related to Cuba, as well as a bibliography.
This H.W. Wilson database provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but the complete articles may be available via another Loyola database, such as HeinOnline.
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.
The online version of Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index is a finding aid designed to direct researchers to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. The database component of this title is updated three times a year and is searchable by title, publisher, subject, or jurisdiction.
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions, and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database. Cuba has been a WTO member since 1995.
HeinOnline's World Constitutions Illustrated includes the current constitution in its original language format for every country, along with at least one English translation, as well as links to relevant scholarly articles, commentaries, histories, and books about constitutional law. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Havana, Cuba
