The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Latin American countries. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Chilean law topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.
Major newspapers in Chile are:
El Mercurio (coverage in LexisNexis, Westlaw, Access World News, Factiva)
La Nación (coverage in Factiva)
La Tercera (coverage in Factiva)
A historical archive of English and Spanish-language newspapers published in Latin America is also available through the World Newspaper Archive. Back issues of El Mercurio are available in the Archive with coverage from 1914-1922.
The Santiago Times is an English-language daily news. There is currently free archival access to very recent articles.
CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales) - Based in Buenos Aires, CLACSO sponsors a network of open-access libraries that post Latin American scholarship.
Latindex - Latindex compiles bibliographic information for Ibero-American serials.
RedALyC - This is an academic open-access project focusing primarily on the sciences.
SciELO - This is a publishing portal for scholarship primarily in the sciences, with some legal content.
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's "Databases A-Z" list.
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database also includes a collection of historical documents and texts related to Chile, as well as a bibliography.
This H.W. Wilson database provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but the complete articles may be available via another Loyola database, such as HeinOnline.
HeinOnline's Kluwer Law International Journal Library provides full-text access to 23 Kluwer Law International Journals, including: Air and Space Law, Arbitration International, World Trade and Arbitration Materials, International Journal of Comparative Labour Law & Industrial Relations, European Public Law, European Review of Private Law, and Legal Issues of Economic Integration. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
For law school subscribers, under the" News" tab, choose "International by Country," then Chile. The "Esmerk Chile News" database provides English translations of business-related articles from the Chilean press.
For law school subscribers, in WestlawNext, go to "News" then "International" then "Latin America" then Chile. There are English language summaries available from El Diario.
Although this database focuses on links to the texts of foreign constitutions, the texts of monographs, relevant law review articles, and historical documents are also included. Chilean materials in the database, for example, include the full text of "A History of Chile" (Hancock, 1893) and "Argentina, Brazil, and Chile since Independence" (Rippy, et al., 1935). A bibliography on the Chilean constitution is also presented, as well as links to articles in HeinOnline that focus on Chile.
For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases with coverage of Latin America, see the page for "Latin America"
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
This database includes the full texts of over 2,150 journals that collectively cover all business disciplines, as well as economics. Detailed country and company profiles are also offered. Coverage is international.
Compiled and abstracted in an easily searchable format, EconLit is a comprehensive index of economic journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, & Hispanics in the United States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes a number of publications that specifically focus on topics related to Latin American Studies.
Medline is a large database (1946-forward) with international coverage of medical literature, including Spanish-language Chilean publications.
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources.
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals.
Index, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
Indexes of political science and international relations literature. Including abstracts of journals, provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage: 1975 - present.
PAC-Rim Legal Values: Chile (July 16, 2013)
This PowerPoint accompanied a talk on Chilean legal research given at the American Association of Law Libraries Annual Meeting in Seattle on July 16, 2013. The speaker was Sergio Stone, Robert Crown Law Library, Stanford University. (Posted with permission.)
Researching Chilean Legal Topics (January 2017)
This PowerPoint presentation was prepared for the LUC Law School course, "Comparative Law Seminar: Legal Systems in the Americas."
